Where Can Americans Still Travel During the Pandemic?

Cancún, Mexico. Photo by Gerson Repreza on Unsplash

A U.S. passport used to be the key to the world, once upon a time. However, in COVID times, many countries have been closing their borders to international travel, and severe restrictions have been placed on the countries that Americans are allowed to travel to. We all need to escape sometimes, so here are some potential places to get away to. 

Note that whether traveling during the pandemic is responsible or advisable is left at your discretion. All of these locations have restrictions, ranging from required masks to COVID testing. Please check with the countries’ tourism websites for more information.

The Caribbean

Many of our favorite getaways close to home are in the Caribbean Islands. Most of these island paradises are still open to tourism, including Aruba, the Bahamas, Barbados, the Dominican Republic, and Jamaica. Grab a drink and relax in the sun on white-sand beaches.


South & Central America

Brazil, Costa Rica, and Mexico are all among the countries in South and Central America that are still opening their borders to Americans. Explore the Amazon in Brazil or the Mayan ruins in the Yucatan Peninsula in Mexico. Tourist hotspots like Christ the Redeemer and Chichen Itza will have far less traffic than usual.



Hop across the pond to visit our European neighbors. A number of countries on the Mediterranean are open for travel, including Malta. Ireland and the United Kingdom are also open for travel, but require a 14-day quarantine upon arrival.

The United States

If you’re looking to travel and get out of the house, it doesn’t need to be an international ordeal. With 49 different states to choose from, go on a road trip, visit friends or family, go see a cultural site that you’ve never seen. With a wealth of natural and cultural sites, there is guaranteed to be something for everybody, and close to home too!

Here is the full list of countries that are open to travel (*with restrictions):

  • Albania
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Aruba
  • The Bahamas
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Bermuda
  • Brazil
  • Cambodia
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Dubai
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • Ethiopia
  • French Polynesia
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Ireland
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • The Maldives
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • Namibia
  • North Macedonia
  • Panama
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • St. Barts
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Maarten
  • St. Vincent & The Grenadines
  • South Korea
  • Tanzania
  • Turkey
  • Turks and Caicos
  • United Kingdom
  • Zambia