A Quick Guide to NYC’s 5 Districts

New York City is 783.8 km² and home to over 8.623 million people. The city is divided into five districts and each has something unique to offer. Here’s a brief guide to what you’ll find in each.


Manhattan is the heart of NYC. Here you’ll find most of the major tourist attractions including The Met and Central Park. The island is separated by the East River, the Hudson River, and the Harlem River.

The Bronx

The Bronx is north of Manhattan. You’ll find a lot more green areas here as well as the Bronz Zoo and the New York Botanic Gardens. Many Latin Americans live in this part of New York so you’ll find plenty of great Caribbean influenced food and music here.



Brooklyn is south of Manhattan and has a lot of arts and culture. One of the biggest museums in the US, the Brooklyn Museum of Art is here. Brooklyn is also a great place to head to get an amazing view of the Manhattan skyscrapers.



Queens is home to a whole collection of different cultures and nationalities. You’ll meet people from all over the world in this multicultural hub of New York.


Staten Island

You can get to Staten Island by ferry, which is always free for the public. There are some nice green areas if you fancy a break from the city, but it’s mostly a residential area.

View this post on Instagram

On a boat with a view. #statenislandferry #newyork

A post shared by Peter (@peterhasaninstagram) on