The 5 Love Languages and What They Mean

Couple holding hands
Photo by Stanley Dai on Unsplash

Making a relationship work takes effort. According to the theory of Dr. Gary Chapman, one of the keys to a lasting relationship is understanding which love language you and your partner respond to the most, then regularly putting it into practice. A love language is essentially the way one expresses their love. These are the five love languages:

Words of Affirmation

These are verbal expressions of affection, encouragement, and appreciation. “Thank you for picking me up” or ”You look great today” for example. Basically telling your partner that you appreciate them.


Gifts are pretty straightforward: you feel loved when you receive “visual symbols of love”. It’s not necessarily about the monetary value of the present, but rather its emotional significance.

Acts of Service

This means doing kind or helpful gestures for your partner, like washing the dishes so they can relax or making coffee for them in the morning.

Quality Time

People whose love language is quality time feel most adored when their partner wants to actively spend time and engage in activities with them. Think of things like taking a walk after dinner, or watching a movie together.

Physical Touch

Those with physical touch as their love language value physical intimacy highly, whether it’s sexual or more platonic. It can be hugging, kissing, cuddling on the couch, holding hands, or just being physically close to your partner.